Education Trends

2014 CoSN Award Recipients

By March 20, 2014April 26th, 2021No Comments

The Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) Awards were presented at the 2014 CoSN Annual Conference in our nation’s capital, Washington D.C. Generously sponsored by SchoolDude, the awards recognize some of the most innovative leaders in education technology.

Recipients were selected by a committee of ed tech community veterans, including our own CB&A President and Founder, Charlene Blohm. The winners represent a fundamental belief in lifelong learning and the power of technology to transform lives.

Withrow CTO Award – CTO of the Year

Keith Bockwoldt, CETL, the Director of Technology Services for Township High School District 214 in Arlington Heights, Illinois. Keith has tirelessly worked to help foster a culture of learning and make technology a vital part of his school’s strategic plan.

Honorable Mention: Pete Just, the CTO at Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township in Indiana, is a committed CoSN member and a newly elected CoSN Board member.

Team Award

Kent School District from Kent, Washington. The Kent School District IT team takes technology beyond just the support role and has made itself a strategic partner in this learning community. Kent is one of the first districts to develop a 1:1 computer program for all middle and high school students, and is a leader in dropout recovery.

Honorable Mention: Northwest ISD from Fort Worth, Texas. Defining what a 21st century classroom should look like, Northwest has implemented a 1:1 and BYOD initiative in schools across the district its technology leadership team implemented ed tech tools that support both school and home-based learning.

Volunteer of the Year

John Vaille, CTO at Puget Sound ESD in Washington. John is one of the leading champions of CoSN’s CETL certification program. As co-chair of the Certification Governing Committee, he has dedicated countless hours to ensuring that certification is rigorous, fair, and up-to-date. John is one of the behind-the-scene volunteers who are critical to CoSN’s success.

Private Sector Champion

Vicki Bigham of Bigham Technology Solutions. Vicki has been a champion of CoSN from the beginning- as a volunteer and as a link to other companies in the ed tech space. She builds the CoSN’s annual K-12 Horizon Toolkit on how to start a conversation about emerging technologies and last year co-chaired the advocacy auction.

Award for Excellence in Public Service

Jessica Rosenworcel, a Commissioner of the FCC. Jessica earns this for her tireless work to reform the E-rate and increase education funding.

We applaud all the work and time the award winners and nominee have devoted to building the education technology industry and supporting CoSN. Congratulations to all!